This website is no longer being updated. Please go to GOV.SCOT

Marine Protected Areas Designations

The following 30 MPAs, which will be incorporated into the National Marine Plan and represented in National Marine Plan interactive alongside existing protected areas, have now been designated under the Marine (Scotland) Act and the UK Marine and Coastal Access Act:

Inshore MPA (17)

Offshore MPAs (13)

Clyde Sea Sill

Central Fladen

East Caithness Cliffs

East of Gannet and Montrose Fields

Fetlar to Haroldswick

Faroe-Shetland Sponge Belt

Loch Creran

Firth of Forth Banks Complex

Loch Sunart

Geikie Slide and Hebridean Slope

Loch Sunart to the Sound of Jura

Hatton-Rockall Basin

Loch Sween

North-east Faroe Shetland Channel

Lochs Duich, Long and Alsh

North-west Orkney

Monach Isles

Norwegian Sediment Boundary Plain

Mousa to Boddam

Rosemary Bank Seamount

Noss Head

The Barra Fan and Hebrides Terrace Seamount

Papa Westray

Turbot Bank

Small Isles

West Shetland Shelf

South Arran


Upper Loch Fyne and Loch Goil


Wester Ross


Wyre and Rousay Sounds


The Nature Conservation MPA network consists of 30 MPAs: 17 MPAs under the Marine (Scotland) Act 2010 in Scottish territorial waters and 13 MPAs under the Marine and Coastal Access Act 2009 that have been recommended by Scottish Natural Heritage and the Joint Nature Conservation Committee. These designations fulfil duties in both the the Marine (Scotland) Act and the UK Marine and Coastal Access Act 2009, as well as furthering commitments to form part of the wider UK contribution to the OSPAR North-East Atlantic MPA network.

Please note that three of the pMPAs that were consulted upon as options and alternatives (South-east Fladen, Western Fladen, and South-west Sula Sgeir and Hebridean Slope) for representation of features in certain pMPAs have not been taken forward to designation, and therefore no longer carry policy protection.

A map that shows the new Nature Conservation MPAs is also available.