We have a new website go to gov.scot

Rural Development Contracts - Rural Priorities

Transition arrangements for Scotland Rural Development Programme 2014-2020

The next stage of the SRDP is due to run from 2014-2020. The Scottish Government has taken steps to ensure that transition arrangements are in place for as much as possible of the SRDP for 2014, until the new Common Agricultural Policy starts in 2015.

  • For Rural Priorities, agri-environment contracts (including organic agreements) that were due to expire on December 31, 2013 will be extended for another year.
  • Forestry payments - woodland creation and woodland management projects will be able to go ahead in 2014-15 under contracts being approved up to the end of 2013 (subject to State Aid approval).

New guidance and guidance amendments

New guidance and guidance amendments are added from time to time. The most recent version of the guidance will always be the one available on the website, however, you will be able to find information about changes in the guidance in the What's new and Guidance updates sections.

Rural Development Contracts - Rural Priorities

Rural Development Contracts - Rural Priorities (RDC - RP)

Rural Development Contract AreasRural Development Contracts - Rural Priorities (RDC - RP) is an integrated funding mechanism which will deliver targeted environmental, social and economic benefits.

It will contribute to the delivery of the Scottish Government's strategic objectives through regional priorities, agreed with stakeholders for each of the 11 regions.

Rural Priorities is a competitive mechanism to ensure that contracts are awarded for the proposals which are best able to deliver the agreed regional priorities.

You can view the priorities for your region by using the menu on the left. You can find out your region here.

Regional priorities have been established to aid the delivery of the five key outcomes of the SRDP:

  • business viability and competitiveness
  • water quality
  • adaptations to mitigate climate change
  • biodiversity and landscapes
  • thriving rural communities

Regional priorities offer an indication of which outcomes are considered to be of greatest importance within each of the 11 regions and which actions would best deliver these.

They were derived from a set of generic, national priorities by the Regional Proposal Assessment Committee (RPAC) for each region.

Rural Priorities will be delivered jointly by SGRPID, SNH and FCS through area offices.

You can find out about how applications are submitted and assessed by selecting How it Works from the left hand menu.

For further details, please see the Rural Priorities information leaflet. The leaflet is also available in pdf format (315kb).

ArgyllArgyll and ButeHighlandClyde ValleyForthArgyll and ButeHighlandHighlandHighlandDumfries and GallowayBordersOuter HebridesOuter HebridesTaysideAyrshireAyrshireGrampianNorthern IslesNorthern Isles