We have a new website go to gov.scot

Crofting policy in Scotland - Designation of New Crofting Areas

New Crofting Areas

croft with dark sky

Arran, Bute, Greater and Little Cumbrae, Moray and parts of Highland not already within the seven traditional Crofting Counties have been designated as new crofting areas, with effect from 4 February 2010.

This follows a public consultation in March 2008 on proposals to extend crofting tenure, and aligns the crofting counties with the area covered by Highlands & Islands Enterprise (HIE).

Until now, crofting was unique to Shetland, Orkney, Caithness, Sutherland, Ross-shire, Inverness-shire and Argyll.

Section 3A (1) of the Crofters (Scotland) Act 1993 (inserted by the 2007 Act) allows Scottish Ministers to designate new areas in Scotland where crofts can be created, with the approval of the Crofters Commission. Landowners and some tenants in these areas can apply to the Commission to create new crofts.

Maps of the new areas that were designated in early 2010: