We have a new website go to gov.scot

School holidays and term dates 2008-2009

DescriptionSchool holidays
ISBN
Official Print Publication Date
Website Publication DateNovember 28, 2007

School Term Dates 2008/09

In addition to the dates shown below, there may be in-service days or local holidays to be taken at the discretion of education authorities and/or schools. Further information on these days may be obtained from the relevant local authority website by clicking on the name of the local authority.

Autumn Term

Spring Term

Summer Term

Local Authority

Term Start Date

Autumn Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Christmas Break

Term Start Date

Spring Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Easter Break

Term Start Date

Summer Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Aberdeen City Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Friday 19 and Monday 22 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 24 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Tuesday 21 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009

Friday 3 July 2009

Aberdeenshire Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 13 to Friday 24 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009

Friday 3 July 2009

Angus Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 6 to Friday 17 October 2008,

Friday 28 November and Monday 1 December 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Thursday 12 February (Forfar/ Kirriemuir/ Brechin/ Montrose schools only),

Friday 13 and Monday 16 February 2009 (All Schools)

Tuesday 17 February 2009 (Monifieth/ Carnoustie/ Arbroath schools only)

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Friday 22 May 2009

Wednesday 1 July 2009

Argyll and Bute Council

Please use link

Clackmannanshire Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Monday 6 October 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008 (Primary),

Monday 13 October to Friday 17 2008 (Secondary),

Thursday 20 and Friday 21 November 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Tuesday 6 January 2009

Friday 13 to Monday 23 February 2009,

Wednesday 18 to Friday 20 February 2009 (Lornshill Academy Only)

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles)

Thursday 21 August 2008

Monday 13 to Wednesday 22 October 2008

Tuesday 23 December 2008

Tuesday 6 January 2009

Friday 27 March 2009

Monday 13 April 2009

Wednesday 1 July 2009

Dumfries & Galloway Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 13 to Friday 24 October,

Friday 28 November to Thursday 4 December 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 13 to Monday 23 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009

Friday 3 July 2009

Dundee City Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 6 to Friday 17 October 2008

Tuesday 23 December 2008

Wednesday 7 January 2009

Friday 15 and Monday 18 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Monday 25 May 2009

Thursday 2 July 2009

Autumn Term

Spring Term

Local Authority

Term Start Date

Autumn Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Christmas Break

Term Start Date

Spring Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Easter Break

Term Start Date

Summer Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

East Ayrshire Council

Wednesday 14 August 2008

Friday 19 to Monday 22 September 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 to Friday 20 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Tuesday 21 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009, Friday 22 to Monday 25 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

East Dunbartonshire Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 26 to Monday 29 2008,

Friday 10 to Friday 17 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 to Wednesday 18 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Thursday 21 to Monday 25 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

East Lothian Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 12 to 15 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Monday 20 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 9 to Tuesday 17 February

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Friday 1 to Tuesday 5 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

East Renfrewshire Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 26 to Monday 29 2008,

Friday 10 to Friday 17 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Thursday 12 to Tuesday 18 February 2008

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Friday 22 to Tuesday 26 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

City of Edinburgh Council

Wednesday 20 August 2008

Monday 15 September 2008,

Monday 20 to Tuesday 28 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 to Monday 23 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Tuesday 21 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Monday 18 to Tuesday 19 May 2009

Thursday 2 July 2009

Falkirk Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 8 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008,

Monday 17 and Tuesday 18 November 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Tuesday 6 January 2009

Wednesday 11 to Tuesday 17 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

Fife Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Monday 13 to Friday 24 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Tuesday 6 January 2009

Wednesday 11 to Friday 13 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 may 2009,

Monday 1 and Tuesday 2 June

Thursday 2 July 2009

Glasgow City Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 26 and Monday 29 September,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 and Tuesday 17 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May,

Friday 22 and Monday 25 May

Friday 26 June 2009

Autumn Term

Spring Term

Summer Term

Local Authority

Term Start Date

Autumn Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Christmas Break

Term Start Date

Spring Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Easter Break

Term Start Date

Summer Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Highland Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 13 to Wednesday 29 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 27 March 2009

Monday 14 April 2009

Thursday 2 July 2009

Inverclyde Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 5 to Monday 8 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Tuesday 21 October 2008

Tuesday 23 December 2008

Tuesday 6 January 2009

Friday 6 to Monday 9 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 27 April 2009,

Monday 4 May 2009,

Friday 29 May to Tuesday 2 June 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

Midlothian Council

Wednesday 20 August 2008

Friday 12 to Monday 15 September 2008,

Monday 20 to Monday 27 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Tuesday 6 January 2009

Monday 16 to Monday 23 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Tuesday 21 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Monday 18 May 2009

Friday 3 July 2009

Moray Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 13 to Friday 24 October 2008,

Monday 17 and Tuesday 18 November 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 13 and Monday 16 February 2009

Friday 27 March 2009

Monday 13 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Thursday 21 and 22 May 2009

Thursday 2 July 2009

North Ayrshire Council

* Except Arran

Thursday 14 August 2008

Monday 22 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008,

Thursday 13 to Monday 17 November 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 9 to Monday 16 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Friday 1 and Monday 4 May 2009,

Friday 22 to Monday 25 May 2009

Tuesday 30 June 2009

ARRAN

Thursday 14 August 2008

Monday 22 September 2008,

Monday 6 to Friday 10 October 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008,

Friday 14 November 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 9 to Friday 13 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Friday 1 and Monday 4 May 2009

Tuesday 30 June 2009

North Lanarkshire Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 26 and Monday 29 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008,

Monday 17 November 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 6 February 2009, (Motherwell, Wishaw, Shotts, Bellshill and Uddingston only),

Monday 9 February and Tuesday 10 February 2009 (Wednesday 11 February Cumbernauld, Kilsyth, Coatbridge and Airdrie only)

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 and Tuesday 5 May 2009,

Friday 22 and Monday 25 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

Orkney Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 13 to Monday 27 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Thursday 12 and Friday 13 February 2009

Friday 27 March 2009

Tuesday 14 April 2009

Monday 4 May

Friday 26 June 2009

Perth & Kinross Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 6 to Friday 17 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Wednesday 1 July 2009

Autumn Term

Spring Term

Summer Term

Local Authority

Term Start Date

Autumn Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Christmas Break

Term Start Date

Spring Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Easter Break

Term Start Date

Summer Mid-Term Holidays (Inclusive)

Term End Date

Renfrewshire Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Friday 26 and Monday 29 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Tuesday 21 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 and Tuesday 17 February

Friday 3 April 2009

Tuesday 21 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Friday 22 and Monday 25 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

Scottish Borders Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 13 to Friday 17 August 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009

Thursday 25 June 2009

Shetland Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Monday 13 to Friday 24 October 2009

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 27 March 2009

Monday 13 April 2009

Friday 3 July 2009

South Ayrshire Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 19 and Monday 22 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Monday 20 October 2008

Tuesday 23 December 2008

Wednesday 7 January 2009

Friday 13 to Wednesday 18 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Thursday 21 to Monday 25 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

South Lanarkshire Council (Some holidays are broken down by school please use link to see these dates)

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 26 and Monday 29 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 and Tuesday 17 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Friday 22 and 25 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

Stirling Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 8 September 2008 (Except Balfron Cluster)

Monday 29 September 2008 (Balforn Cluster Only),

Monday 13 to Friday 17 2008

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Monday 16 to Friday 20 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

West Dunbartonshire Council

Monday 18 August 2008

Friday 26 and Monday 29 September 2008,

Monday 13 to Friday 17 October 2008

Tuesday 23 December 2008

Wednesday 7 January 2009

Monday 16 and Tuesday 17 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Monday 4 May 2009,

Friday 22 and Monday 25 May 2009

Friday 26 June 2009

West Lothian Council

Tuesday 19 August 2008

Monday 15 and Tuesday 16 September 2008,

Friday 17 to Monday 28 October 2009

Friday 19 December 2008

Monday 5 January 2009

Friday 13 and Tuesday 17 February 2009

Friday 3 April 2009

Monday 20 April 2009

Tuesday 5 2009

Friday 26 June 2009



¢